Q: I have a question about The Raven Quill If I have Spectral Binding (no slot) and Supernatural Record (fetch the Tome and play it), can I do this even if I have no free hand slot at that time? And will I keep all my current assets and the new tome (which does not require a slot once The Raven Quill is attached)? The main question here is, whether I have to discard one between playing and (then) attaching The Raven Quill. A: With Spectral Binding and Supernatural Record, you may play the named Tome asset without having it take up any hand slots.
Q: With The Raven Quill's ability: "When you resign or the game ends: Either mark a checkbox on The Raven Quill's upgrade sheet, or reduce the experience cost to upgrade the attached asset before the next scenario by 1." If I have two copies of Dream Diary in my deck: Dream Diary: Untranslated, and Dream Diary: Dreams of a Child; and the Quill is attached to the Dreams of a Child at the end of the game... Can I use the 1xp discount to upgrade the Untranslated diary? A: No. The Raven Quill specifically allows you to reduce the experience cost to upgrade “the attached asset”, which would mean the one The Raven Quill is physically attached to when you resign or end the game. Though the two Dream Diary cards technically have the same title, you could not upgrade the Untranslated version with The Raven Quill if it was attached to Dreams of a Child.
Q: I've got a knotty question about The Raven Quill - specifically when it has the Supernatural Record upgrade. Normally, with a level 0 Raven Quill, you can only play one copy; it's a unique card, so the second copy can't enter play. However, Supernatural Record reads: "When you play The Raven Quill, instead of attaching it to a named asset you control, you may search your deck, discard pile, and hand for a copy of a named asset and play it (paying its cost). Then, attach The Raven Quill to it." Which sounds like it replaces (using "instead") the attach-on-play effect with a procedure that first performs a tutor, then attaches Raven Quill to the tutored asset. Thus, is it possible that with Supernatural Record, a second Raven Quill can be played so as to resolve the tutoring effect, after which the attachment fails? After all, the rules only prohibit a second copy of a unique card from being brought "into play", so in theory a Raven Quill with Supernatural Record avoids being brought "into play" until after the tutoring effect is resolved and it attempts to attach to an asset. On the other hand, even with Supernatural Record the original text of Raven Quill that states "Attach to a named asset you control." still exists. In some sense, then, it's still an attach-on-play event, and it's possible that the rules for Play Restrictions (which state you must check for legality before playing the card) prevent a second Raven Quill from coming in at all because it's still a unique card that attempts to come into play through attachment. A: No, you cannot attempt to play a second The Raven Quill if there is already one The Raven Quill in play, even if you have the Supernatural Record upgrade.
Przedmiot. Relikwia. Usprawnienie.
Przystosowalny. Kiedy kupujesz Krucze pióro, wybierz atut z cechą Księga lub Zaklęcie i zanotuj jego nazwę na arkuszu usprawnień Kruczego pióra.
Dołącz tę kartę do atutu, który kontrolujesz, wymienionego na arkuszu usprawnień.
Kiedy zrezygnujesz lub gra się skończy: zakreśl pole na arkuszu usprawnień Kruczego pióra albo obniż o 1 koszt w punktach doświadczenia ulepszenia atutu, do którego dołączono tę kartę, przed następnym scenariuszem.
Wybrany atut z cechą Księga lub Zaklęcie:
□ Wieczne pióro. Używanie zdolności z atutu, do którego dołączono tę kartę, nie wywołuje ataków towarzyszących.
□ Widmowa obwoluta. Atut, do którego dołączono tę kartę, nie zajmuje żadnych stref.
□□ Mistyczna chorągiewka. Podczas rozpatrywania testów z dołączonego atutu dostajesz +2 do wartości umiejętności.
□□ Niekończący się atrament. Wybierz 2 kolejne atuty z cechą Księga lub Zaklęcie:
□□ Przesył energii. Krucze pióro zyskuje: „ Wyczerp Krucze pióro: porusz 1 sekret lub ładunek z atutu, który kontrolujesz, na atut, do którego dołączono tę kartę”
□□□ Atramentowy splot. Po tym, jak rozpatrzysz zdolność z atutu, do którego dołączono tę kartę, możesz wyczerpać Krucze pióro, aby przygotować inny atut, który kontrolujesz.
□□□□ Nadprzyrodzone zapiski. Kiedy zagrasz Krucze pióro, zamiast dołączać go do wymienionego powyżej atutu, który kontrolujesz, możesz przeszukać twoją talię, stos kart odrzuconych i rękę w poszukiwaniu kopii wymienionego atutu i zagrać go (płacąc jego koszt). Następnie dołącz do niego Krucze pióro.
This is my favourite card for this expansion.
About the card itself, it has a lot of text but doesn't seem to do much: decrease the amount of XP to upgrade the card or check one of its own boxes. Sure, m'kay...
So what is there to unpack in level 0?
- I love the idea of using a powerful feather to write tomes and spell parchments and give them magical traits.
- The art is sick, and they know it: it was selected to be on some of the playmats of Arkham Nights 2022.
- It is the 2nd event typed item in the game (the first being the Telescopic Sight) and so opens the door for all types of recursion
- On top of being a Scavengeable item, it is the first level 0 item that commits for 2 . The only options after are level 2 and more. To emphasize how sick this is, there is no other level 0 item that offers 2 of the same icons (including ) in the game as of the Scarlet Keys release, except for Signatures and Campaign specific cards.
- Note: since it is not an asset, Schoffner's Catalogue cannot pay for it, despite the ravens on the art...
Alright, that is already something for the base card, but I'm not 100% sold yet.
So what are the hidden secrets in the customizable options of The Raven Quill?
Let's review each option and see all the doors it opens.
□ Living Quill. Using attached asset's abilities does not provoke attacks of opportunity.
- Since the Prophesiae Profana and its immediate taboo, we all understand now the power of not having AoO. It is not always super important, but in some cases, it can really make a difference. Think about Trish Scarborough attaching this to Grim Memoir or Divination, for instance, and you can now use it with an enemy at your location and evade that enemy while getting a clue.
- Another good use is on Encyclopedia to boost your or and have a better chance to evade.
- Finally, the Forbidden Tome, Gray's Anatomy, and De Vermis Mysteriis (used on combat spells) are all tomes that you would like to use with an enemy at your location and therefore could appreciate it.
□ Spectral Binding. Attached asset does not take up any slots.
- Some tomes and spells happen to use more than an arcane slot, and this can then become very interesting. The first to come to mind is Enchanted Bow, which uses both hands and an arcane slot. With 1xp, you then save 3 slots. True Magick doesn't take both hands but is also hard to manage because of the heavy slot usage. No more for Luke Robinson. Finally, Mind's Eye though I wouldn't see which investigator would benefit from it yet.
- I personally use it as a replacement for Arcane Enlightenment simply to have a 3rd Hand Slot when holding a tome, which is great for 1xp.
□□ Mystic Vane. You get +2 skill value while performing skill tests on attached asset.
- Very self-explanatory, it works amazingly with the Spells and Tomes that require a test. There are surprisingly few tomes offering a test: Abyssal Tome, Grim Memoir, Medical Texts and Research Notes. The latter can be really strong for Darrell Simmons and Minh Thi Phan.
- When it comes to Spells, we all know them, and +2 is worth 2 to 3xp on them (see Shrivelling (3) for the reference), so it's a heavy bargain here!
□□ Endless Inkwell. Name two more Tome or Spell assets
This gives more flexibility. I personally never use it because I know exactly what I want the Quill to do in my deck, so I build around it.
Note: the The Raven Quill is unique so you cannot name multiple assets and have 2 on the board at the same time.
□□ Energy Sap. The Raven Quill gains: " Exhaust The Raven Quill: Move 1 secret or charge from an asset you control to attached asset."
- This, my friend, is where the jank starts. Just see the use of the Eldritch Sophist by @chirubime in their Ursula Deck to have an understanding of the power of secret/charge transfer.
- Some notable sources are:
- The The Red Clock (2) and (5) are a source of infinite charges for other assets. That allows you to leave the clock in the place that interests you the most while providing an asset with 1 charge each turn.
- The new Runic Axe, but you decrease the strength of the Axe itself.
- Finally, True Magick replenishes too, but I doubt it's a good idea and you probably actually want to use that charge.
- Besides these endless sources, good charges/secrets supplies are:
- The good recipients for that power load are:
The best users of this upgrade seem to be Daisy Walker, Luke Robinson, Minh Thi Phan and Darrell Simmons because of their interesting synergies. Here's an example of a Minh deck that abuses this secret refill on [Arcane Insight](/card/03266) to bring the shroud to 0 every turn.
□□□ Interwoven Ink. After you resolve an ability on attached asset, you may exhaust The Raven Quill to ready another asset you control.
My favourite part of the Quill. This brings so many options. There are about 300 player cards that exhaust, so I couldn't possibly list them all. Here are just a few of my favourites, sorted by class:
- : Beat Cop (2), Boxing Gloves, Butterfly Swords, Enchant Weapon, Quickdraw Holster, Well Prepared
- : Abigail Foreman, Ariadne's Twine, Eon Chart, Fieldwork, Fingerprint Kit, Grisly Totem, Hiking Boots, Old Book of Lore, Pathfinder, Press Pass, tabooed Dr. Milan Christopher and Whitton Greene.
- Chuck Fergus, Damning Testimony, Delilah O'Rourke, Lola Santiago, Double, Double, Haste Henry Wan (the one and only), High Roller, Well Connected, Lockpicks, Lucky Cigarette Case, Trigger Man
- Arcane Initiate, Ceremonial Sickle Dowsing Rod, David Renfield, Sign Magick, Sin-Eater, Summoned Hound
- Ancient Covenant, Drawing Thin, Miss Doyle's cats, Madame Labranche, Mariner's Compass, Rabbit's Foot, Track Shoes,
- A lot of signatures
I am sure that while reading this list, there are at least a couple of cards that made you think, "wow, this would be sick in a [insert_investigator_name]!"
My experience so far is: 90% of the decks that could use The Raven Quill have an asset that exhausts and would benefit from Interwoven Ink.
I am currently working on a deck that uses this Interwoven Ink and the Eldritch Sophist for double use of one asset each turn. Stay tuned ;)
□□□□ Supernatural Record. When you play The Raven Quill, instead of attaching it to a named asset you control, you may search your deck, discard pile, and hand for a copy of a named asset and play it (paying its cost). Then, attach The Raven Quill to it.
This last upgrade is more straightforward than the 2 previous ones.
A few things to point out:
- you have a full tutor for 2xp per copy (Research Librarian feels betrayed)
- you gain 1 play action since the librarian just adds it to your hand (upgraded librarian, when?)
- very importantly, you can also search your discard pile. Use all the charges of a tome or spell, discard it and then get it back with the Quill attached for even more uses!
If you are main , this is a no brainer. The downside is that it costs a lot of resources: the price of your asset + 3.
Conclusion: while the first 3 upgrades are gravy, Endless Sap and Interwoven Ink are jank factories making this card one of the most complex but also the most fun of the game IMO. Every new release will come with a new set of jank made available by the Quill, and I love that idea.
The best of this all is that if you do not plan on upgrading your Asset, the The Raven Quill checks its mark by itself, so it doesn't even cost you experience!! So let's all thank the ravens and start creating the craziest decks!
If I get Interwoven Ink on The Raven Quill, and attach The Raven Quill to Old Tome of Lore, and that Old Tome of Lore is on Abigail Foreman, can I use Old Tome of Lore myself, then use Abigail's reaction ability to use Old Tome of Lore again, and then use Interwoven Ink (reacting to the second Old Tome of Lore activation) to ready Abigail and then use's Abigail's reaction ability to react to the 2nd usage of Old Tome of Lore to use it again, in order to use Old Tome of Lore 3 times per turn for only 1 action?
When I identify Archaic Glyphs by placing the third secret onto it, I have to discard it. The Raven Quill is attached and gets discarded with it. What happens with the reaction effect on The Raven Quill at the end of the game?
It says "When you resign or the game ends: Either mark a checkbox on The Raven Quill's upgrade sheet, or reduce the experience cost to upgrade the attached asset before the next scenario by 1.".
For this effect to work, The Raven Quill needs to be in play, am I right?
Same goes with other "unidentified" and "untranslated" assets like:
If it wouldn't be the case that The Raven Quill needs to be in play to have it's effect working once played, you should be able to trigger it twice.
- Play named asset
- Attach The Raven Quill
- Identify / Translate the asset -> Discard Asset + The Raven Quill
- Play 2nd Copy of named asset
- Attach 2nd copy of The Raven Quill
That should be enough to trigger both instances.
It's strange ... If discarding The Raven Quill and disabling the reaction effect seems kinda dumb. The other way seems dumb too ... Help me.