- Q: Several cards have abilities that spend "Evidence", but do not posses the usual "Uses" keyword, for example Michael Leigh or Research Notes. Does this mean that for the abilities of these cards you are allowed to spend evidence from any card you control? Or does the evidence spent must come from the card itself, as it would happen with cards with the "Uses" keyword? A: When a card has “evidence” placed onto it and has an ability that spends “evidence”, that evidence must be spent from the same card. Only evidence on Michael Leigh can be spent on his second triggered ability. Only evidence on Research Notes can be spent on its activate ability.
Przedmiot. Księga. Nauka.
Po tym, jak zdolność karty gracza umieści 1 lub więcej twoich żetonów wskazówek na twojej lokalizacji: umieść tyle samo żetonów zasobów na Notatkach z badań jako dowody.
: Wykonaj test (0). Za każdy punkt, o który test zakończy się sukcesem, możesz wydać 1 dowód, aby odkryć 1 żeton wskazówki w twojej lokalizacji.
This card’s second ability gains: “(max 3 evidence spent per round).”
This card is insane. Why? Because you can have two of them out at the same time.
With two of these out, every clue you drop gets you 2 free-ish clues that you can discover off of any location, ignoring shroud values.
All you do is alternate between using one research notes, and then the other, so you're always using the one with the most evidence on it. So having two of these out is sort of like having a permanent The Skeleton Key, that makes shrouds 0 instead of 1, lets you pick up as many clues as you pass by, and doesn't have to be moved from location to location... provided you can generate enough evidence.
The limiting factor here, then, is in how many clues you can drop per turn, to fuel your Research notes. Thankfully, there's a few strong repeatable clue dropping effects you can utilize:
Quick Study is by far the best option. You can have two of them in play, letting you drop 2 clues per turn, and it gives you skill boosts on your research notes, allowing you to hit such high values that you could clear out a location in a single test late in the game, regardless of what token you draw.
Dr. William T. Maleson lets you drop an additional clue each turn, at the cost of taking up your ally slot. Given that the Research Notes action isn't an "Investigate" action, you can't use Dr. Milan anyways, so this isn't a huge deal.
Captivating Discovery lets you "prime the pump", so to speak - just slam it down once you have both research notes in play, drop 3 clues, and you can get a total of 6 evidence in play, which should be enough to keep you going the rest of the scenario. The fact that this card also draws 6 cards for you on top of that is ridiculous, and also lets you dig for key cards to enable your combo if you aren't quite there yet.
Forewarned only lets you drop a single clue one time, but treachery cancellation is an incredible effect, and this deck turns its downside into an upside. At only 1xp a pop, this is an auto-include.
The only question, then, is what investigator to use this combo in. All of the key cards are level 2 or lower, so you have a TON of options you can use. Personally, I like this card in a Geared Up Parallel Daisy Walker deck. You can use Backpack and Schoffner's Catalogue to fully set up your combo on turn 1, and then just... get to discovering clues! Plus, since Research Notes is a tome, one of your actions discovering clues each turn is free!
Honestly, I suspect this card might be get taboo'd, sooner rather than later. Being able to discover almost all your clues by testing 0 instead of a location's shroud is kinda bonkers... at level 0, no less! But I'm definitely looking forward to at least ONE completely broken playthrough with this card...!
Have you ever wanted to trivialize a few high-shroud locations? Look no further! Just drop a few clues for some cute effects, then pick them right back up with Research Notes! Got two on the table? Even better, pick up twice as many as you dropped! See a high shroud location? Drop the clues in a easy-to-reach location, bend over a couple of times to clean up your mess, then waltz over to the enemy lockbox and just pretend that you had the key!
Want to also ruin the entire experience and just win A LOT, while you're at it? Try including Knowledge is power!
Just ignore spending that evidence, and go straight to the "pick up clues" part. The best part? You don't even need to play this then, you can keep both of your magnifying glasses in your hands for those additional clues!
(This works the same way the interaction between Old Book of Lore and Knowledge is power which was ruled by Alex Werner to ignore the "spend 1 secret" cost to play the card immediately - this hopefully gets changed in the near future)
Conventional wisdom tells us that when we're in hole, first stop digging. But if you commit #Analysis to the Intellect test on #Research Notes, it's hard not to double down on a bad first (or second...) token pull by repeatedly using the reaction ability.
Other reviews have been dealing with this card well. I wanted to mention a few other things from my experience using it with Daisy Walker.
This is a strong card, but it feels like something that's only effective if you make it a core (if not the core) of your deck.
White Liger mentioned in a comment on another review that Abigail Foreman is strong with this card. With Research Notes attached to Abigail, you can double the number of clues you get from your success without any of the cost in evidence. This means you won't need a second copy of Research Notes.
If you're playing this, and need resources, you'll likely benefit from taking Crack the Case. You'll have a decent chance of taking advantage of a high shroud location multiple times.
Here is another card that involves resources. If you're running Research Notes, there is also a good chance you'll be running Research Librarian in order to find both of them (at least before you upgrade). Astounding Revelation will trigger when you use Research Librarian.
The Raven Quill is also convenient, since you can use it to find (or recover) your Research Notes and play it without an extra action, have it take up no slot (in case you want to include something else in your hand or other tomes). Being able to recover your Research Notes is particularly important if you're deck is built around it and you'd be out of luck without both copies.