At a Crossroads

I ran this in a Tommy Muldoon deck focusing on Custom Modified Becky and it did not disappoint. Tommy often struggles with draw consistency because all those Assets shuffling back makes his deck that much thicker. Now you can just aggressively draw through most of your deck (including Resourceful for even more draw) in case Prepared for the Worst didn't find Becky. As a side benefit, Rookie Mistake is also likely to come up sooner with more draw, so you don't have to play around it all game long.

Carson Sinclair and Preston Fairmont will also appreciate this. Carson needs to draw his Skills to support his friends, while Preston is just a rich sack of meat before finding his loadout. Both of them don't really care about the lost action either. One's already giving his actions away while the other's likely running Leo De Luca.

Haven't played Vincent Lee yet, but if the synergy with Geared Up is legal, him being able to take Studious, Geared Up and this card without Versatile makes his 1st turn setup pretty consistent.

Not sure about the other investigators with off-class access to Survivor Level 1 events though. Tony may want this as Rogues don't have a lot of draw aside from Lucky Cigarette Case and some high-XP options, but Survivor seems like the least viable secondary class for him. Minh and Mandy already can draw and search very well, so their actions are better spent actually winning the game. Agnes' weakness is so simple yet brutal that adding more draw to her looks like a bad idea (unless you engage in liberal deck manipulation).

koaexe · 30
There is a very nice interaction for this card someone commented at #Carson Sinclair page , it is getting it back with #Resourceful with far more control. Commenting only so this combo is also here for anyone who evaluates this card. — jucathulhu · 1
The Harbinger

I personally think that a Norman deck should be running Eureka, Foresight, Parallel Wills, and Scrying because there's just so much synergy between those cards and his ability. That said, it won't always be possible but you would be able to get around Harbinger if you ever caught it in a scry or parallel wills - make sure to Eureka when you know it's in the top 3 cards and name it with Foresight ahead of time (per FFG it looks like for Foresight and "Search and Draw" effects they want the timing window to be prior to the search part). If it gets to the top of your deck normally you can't Foresight it since it prevents itself from being drawn, but if you can draw it from inside your deck that bypasses the limitation and Foresight cancels it before the Revelation effect would put it on top of your deck.

That said, if you know it's coming you can also just prepare for it and time the "draw" when you know you can spare the two actions, but that combination of cards does let you skip having to deal with that and is worth noting I think.

Reldan · 3
The Harbinger goes on top of your deck as a revelation ability, and revelation triggers on draw, so from what I can gather, you see The Harbinger on top of your deck, you draw it, and then you put it back on top of your deck. If I'm interpreting the rules correctly, this would mean that you can play Foresight without any "search and draw" support required in the first place. — Sorden · 1
No, you never draw the Harbinger if it just turns up on top of your deck, because drawing it would be manipulating your deck, and it's already there and in effect. — SSW · 214
Eureka + Foresight to cancel this is clever, I hadn't thought of it. By that token, I've found during early-campaign play, that Old Book Of Lore isn't too bad for an offhand item, since I'm already running Research Librarians & Astounding Revelations, and would further work to Foresight-away this card. — HanoverFist · 742
Dr. William T. Maleson

A very good upgrade in more ways than one to a card that's normally used for its high soak.

The first change we see is that you can now use this ability on ANY investigator rather than just yourself, which includes not having to be at their location. Just like Ward of Protection (2) this means you can always be ready to counter the Ancient Evils that the Guardian at the other side of the map drew.

Now for the real boost. The lv 0 version allowed you to draw a card, say "yikes!", shuffle it into the encounter deck, draw another card, and if you were unlucky say "even more yikes!" and wish you hadn't used the ability. And to make things worse you're simply postponing the danger as the first card is still in the encounter deck.

This card, however, gives you the choice between the two so you will ALWAYS negate the "even more yikes!" encounter card. Either you negate the first card that was bad enough for you to use this ability, or you negate the second card which would have been even worse. Dr. Billy T-M never misses! Additionally, the lv 2 card actually "cancels and discards" the card you choose. You don't shuffle the lit fuse into the encounter deck like before, it simply discards.

So not only does it supercharge the original ability, it also allows it to be used on the rest of the map. The downside compared to similar cards like Forewarned is of course that you (or your ally) must still resolve the lesser of the two evils. But this is a fair price to pay for an ability that can be triggered every mythos phase.

But why would you choose Billy over other cards that doesn't take a hotly contested ally slot like the previously mentioned Ward of Protection, Forewarned, and A Test of Will? The reason is that Billy doesn't care about your revelation effects. Billy doesn't care that there's a "Surge" written above "Revelation". Billy doesn't care that enemies aren't revelation effects. Billy sees a card he doesn't like and cancels it.

As for the cost, placing a clue down, it's not all downsides. Crack the Case, Hawk-Eye Folding Camera, and cards that only work while standing on clues like Inquiring Mind and Preposterous Sketches are easier to trigger. Not to mention Research Notes from the same expansion.

Incredible encounter deck manipulation. Billy has indeed been "Working on Something Bigger".

Droll · 23
I like the comparisson to WoP (2), which is a staple in any mystic multiplayer deck, and this card for the same cost in XP gives so much more, compared to the level 0 version. (Which is arguable much worse than WoP (0), though.) One caveat, still: I don't see real synergy with Hawk-Eye Folding Camera, as this card has "Limit once per game at each location" printed on. So you could not fast-cheese some extra evidence on the card, by clearing the location, dropping a clue and clearing it again. But other than that: a stellar review. — Susumu · 372
Thanks! — Droll · 23
whops, 2 comments instead of one. I should have clarified regarding the Camera that you're right you can't cheese it, but there are situations when you miss out on triggering the effect due to timing. I've experience that it's quite common to draw the camera after you've cleared a location or two, and that locations often gets cleared by other players if you're playing 3-4 players. In those situations its nice to have more chances to trigger the camera, but I wouldn't take Dr Billy JUST for that extra opportunity. — Droll · 23
Another enemy "tutor" for Luke while in the Bunker. — AlderSign · 327
Gumption

You can see Gumption as a somewhat reverse Unexpected Courage. While UC increases your value by 2, Gumption decreases your goal by 2. Either way, you're two number better than you were before comitting the skill card. They both also have the same limit of 1 per test and are both innate (Which matters for cards like True Survivor).

So the question becomes "Why do I spend two experience to upgrade my two UC into Gumptions?" I decided to list some of the pros and cons.

Cons: -The 2 experience price (While small, it does matter for small xp campaigns where your XP needs to go to your core cards, and gumption is probably not gonna be ur engine unless you're playing a Darrel 0 skill test archetype).

-Has no icons. Therefore does not work with cards like Grimsly Totem or interactions that need you to discard card with specific items/quantity of icons (Minh's The King in Yellow.)

-Does not interact with scrounge for supplies, I guess.

-Pros:

-If you're doing a 2 skill test, you can reduce the test to 0. It then becomes an auto-win unless you draw your auto-fail token. On the other hand, 2 skill tests are usually easy enough to pass with. Which brings us to...

-Old Key Ring (Lv 3). Together with Gumption means you can reduce a 4 shroud location to 0. This is much more interesting as a 4 shroud can be difficult for most non-seeker characters.

-Combos with Shed a Light and Exploit Weakness. Although it's not the only way to achieve a 0 skill test (Map the Area, Expose Weakness, Breach the Door, Makeshift Trap) it's probably the most versatile. When you buy gumption, this is probably the deck you're running. And it's not like you can only use ONE of these methods to reduce a test value. Use them all to get to that sweet 0 when you're running 2+ tests.

-Combos with Darrell Simmons for the above reason.

-Weirdly, Combos with Grizzled if it has the "Nemesis" upgrade.

-Combos with Resourceful, if that matters to you.

Of course, you CAN run both copies of UC and both copies of Gumption. You can even put one of each in a test for that sweet +4 in whatever ya need.

tinynanami · 20
One of the overlooked advantage of reducing the difficulty test is also that it reduces the risk of all the cards like Grasping Hands that punish you for every point you fail by. You are now only risking 1 damage (or horror for Rotting Remains). — Valentin1331 · 75633
That is true. Although I wouldn't personally upgrade UC to Gumption solely for the above reason, it's certainlly a pro. — tinynanami · 20
Seeking clarity on whether or not a certain combo works. I know all cards are committed simultaneously to a skill test, but in what order are they applied during ST.5? For example, if I commit Gumption and Double or Nothing, is the difficulty reduced first then doubled, doubled then reduced, or do I choose? — Gibbs_M · 1
Honed Instinct

Good in Wendy?

I'm experimenting with this in Wendy Adams right now, and it's been OK when her Amulet is on the board.

Level 2:

  • Sharpened Talent: +2 on whatever test I make with the action
  • Situational Awareness: "" (I know it's not really a Free Action, which is why I put it in quotes) Investigate (+4 with Old Keyring: -2 Shroud and +2 skill)
  • Killer Instinct: "" Fight (total of 5 with .18 Derringer (2) or 7 with Cheap Shot) or Evade
  • I can also just take the free action on a 3+ success or when the Agenda or Act advance, but I look at this the same way I look at A Test of Will: I'll hold onto it for when it matters, and I think it matters most you can scoop up some easy clues or attack (or evade) an enemy that just engaged you. Unless it's REALLY important to Move, I'm not using this card for that.

Wendy's Amulet makes it interesting because I can commit it for or discard it for her ability and still play it while it's the topmost event.

Is this worth 4XP?

  • Maybe (probably?) not, but Survivors are typically looking for ways to spend XP by the end of a campaign anyway.
  • You can get an extra action every turn with two Leo De Luca (for consistency) for 0XP or two Leo De Luca (1) for 2XP, but you really want Peter Sylvestre (2) in your ally slot. So just buy Charisma and have both in play. This will cost 3XP (or 5XP if you've upgraded Leo) for an extra action every turn. This is also getting you some extra soak at the cost of 6 or 5 resources. That's probably a better use of the XP, but Leo is expensive, even at level 1.

_Almost_ a [Lucky!](/card/01080)

  • For 1 resource it's an extra action and +2 to a skill test (with Sharpened Talent), so it's almost a pre-test Lucky!. Two Lucky! (2) will also cost you 4XP and they replace themselves, but you're probably running them anyway.
  • You can also look at it as a (situational) "" test with an Unexpected Courage, which event-heavy Wendy decks might not include.

So is it good in Wendy?

I think it's ok+ to good- in Wendy as long as you have her Amulet out because of the event interaction. When Abandoned and Alone does inevitably hit, you'll start to see this card more often (as long as it wasn't in your discard pile) because your deck will be thinner.

That formatting on "Almost a Lucky!" worked in the preview... — DrMChristopher · 494
I would add that it's great with a double Quick learner: 1) from the 3rd action, each test is at difficulty -2, which helps to succeed by 3 (less likely in expert of course) and 2) it gives you an additionnal action at difficulty -2. The best way to trigger it is probably Breaking and entering (2). — TribulationsSolo · 1