Seeking Answers

Important tech for Ursula Downs to help her get max value from her ability and defang her weakness. Sometimes Call of the Unknown will force Ursula to have a subpar turn in order to avoid taking horror, but Seeking Answers allows her to investigate a low-shroud location that's already been cleared while still discovering a clue from a location that is either high-shroud or too far away to reach. Especially late in a scenario, where the doom clock and/or Ursula's waning sanity pool oblige you to proceed with maximum efficiency, this card can be a life-saving ace up your sleeve.

ClownShoes · 25
You have to investingate location chosen by Call, not discover a clue there. — Pawiu14 · 3
I think the review is suggesting choosing a nearby, low-shroud location for Call, then using this to clear clues from the location you just left. This allows you to focus on a location while still obeying Call's requirement to move away. — SGPrometheus · 569
Yes, SGPrometheus is correct. Sometimes your back is up against the wall because of the doom clock or some other factor, and you simply don't have time to waste one of Ursula's actions investigating a location that doesn't advance the group toward its goal. Seeking Answers mitigates that problem. — ClownShoes · 25
But for that problem I would rather invest some xp and would buy after the first scenario in the know. Especially when I'm also planning to use the twin — Tharzax · 1
@Tharzax It's true that In the Know addresses Ursula's weakness as well. It's not to my taste, personally, for a few reasons. (1) The added XP and resource cost of ITK, plus the fact that it costs an action to play whereas Seeking Answers can be played as part of Ursula's free investigate action. (2) It's rare that Ursula will need this sort of effect more than once or twice in a scenario, which makes the extra expense for In the Know even harder to justify. (3) It's hard to justify taking ITK over Pathfinder in Ursula decks, even with taboo, since Pathfinder is more generally flexible and has greater synergy with Ursula's ability. — ClownShoes · 25
Since ITK is also an investigation it synergies in Ursula decks also with her ability and pathfinder. The costs per investigation are nearly the same. So this might be the sustainable solution (which I generally prever) for her. But where seeking answers has an advantage is when your starting position is the last or only location with clues, because you can't choose that location — Tharzax · 1
The Final Countdown

Unsure how to submit an FAQ on here, but here’s MJ’s official response on the definition of the word “adjacent” in this game: “Unless otherwise specified, in any scenario in which locations are connected through adjacency, adjacency is only established by locations bordering one another orthogonally (above, below, or to the left or right), not diagonally. Hope that helps!”

rubcar91 · 25
It Awaits

Unsure how to submit an FAQ on here, but here’s MJ’s official response on the definition of the word “adjacent” in this game: “Unless otherwise specified, in any scenario in which locations are connected through adjacency, adjacency is only established by locations bordering one another orthogonally (above, below, or to the left or right), not diagonally. Hope that helps!”

rubcar91 · 25
WHEEL OF FORTUNE · X

Unsure how to submit an FAQ on here, but here’s MJ’s official response on the definition of the word “adjacent” in this game: “Unless otherwise specified, in any scenario in which locations are connected through adjacency, adjacency is only established by locations bordering one another orthogonally (above, below, or to the left or right), not diagonally. Hope that helps!”

rubcar91 · 25
Daredevil

I wrote a question to FFG's official rules forum.

Q: What would happen when I commit card like Daredevil or Copycat to another player at my location? Will the cards see no legal targets for the "after" ability since you can only commit 1 card to another player per skill test and I have already committed the Daredevil/Copycat as the one card? The other way I see it is that it lets you commit another card through the ability because of the Golden Rule. If that is the case does the same work for cards like Practice Makes Perfect or Butterfly Effect?

A: The rules permit each investigator to only commit 1 card to a skill test performed by another investigator. However, investigators may use card effects to commit more than 1 card in this way. In other words, the rules permit only 1 card to be committed, but it’s not a hard maximum. If you commit something like Daredevil with your 1 allowed committed card, you may use Daredevil’s ability to then commit a second card, and that is totally legal. Same goes for any other effect that instructs you to commit 1 or more cards.

nikee40 · 3
Indeed. There's no rule saying you can't commit more than one card to a skill test by another investigator, it's just that *some* effect has to permit you to commit a card and the framework step itself only lets you commit one. — Thatwasademo · 39
This is very useful for Winnifred, since she can draw a card after committing Daredevil or Copycat to another player's test (provided those skills' effect finds a target). — Thatwasademo · 39