Q: I have a question about how placing multiple cards on "either the top or bottom or a deck" works. Do you have to place the entire group of cards on the top, or the entire group of cards on the bottom? Or do you get to choose for each card individually, thereby splitting the group of cards up between both the top and the bottom? For example, Seeker Scroll of Secrets: "Place the rest of those cards on either the top or bottom of their deck, in any order." Can players split these player cards between the top and bottom of their deck? Another example from the Dazzling Skyline location: "For each clue spent, reveal the bottom 3 cards of the Summit deck. You may place those cards on either the top or bottom of the Summit deck, in any order." Can the player split the locations across the top and bottom or the Summit deck? Thank you in advance! A: Yes; for such an ability, you may choose to divide the cards between the top and bottom of the deck. (Ruling, May 2025)
Q: I have a question about Marion's ability timing. Suppose I am playing as Marion and have an enemy engaged with me. I provoke an attack of opportunity. I use Counterpunch (2) in response to that, which occurs "before resolving the attack." I do not defeat the enemy. I trigger Marion's investigator ability to draw and then play another event. Is that second event still "before resolving the attack?" Does this mean that (for example) I could play another Fight event that does not normally have a "before resolving the attack" timing (ex: Monster Slayer) to defeat the enemy and therefore not take the attack? Thank you! A: Yes. To walk through it: you’d trigger/initiate the attack of opportunity, then immediately play Counterpunch (2), then after resolving the event trigger and resolve Marion’s ability to allow you to play a new event such as Monster Slayer and resolve it, and only after that would you resolve the attack of opportunity if the enemy is still in play. (This is an example of a “nested sequence.”) (Ruling, May 2025)
- NB: ArkhamDB now incorporates errata for misattributed illustrators, so the ArkhamDB illustrator attribution and the card image above differ. The ArkhamDB attribution is the correct one - April 2025.
- NB: ArkhamDB now incorporates errata for misattributed illustrators, so the ArkhamDB illustrator attribution and the card image above differ. The ArkhamDB attribution is the correct one - April 2025.
- NB: ArkhamDB now incorporates errata for misattributed illustrators, so the ArkhamDB illustrator attribution and the card image above differ. The ArkhamDB attribution is the correct one - April 2025.