If you cast Mind Wipe on Swamp Leech, you may evade it as normal, treating its Evade value as 0.Q: There's an old ruling that says if you use Mind Wipe on Swamp Leech and attempt to evade it, the evade value of '-' is treated as 0. If another card, like Sharpshooter or Delilah O'Rourke, references the evade value of something with a '-', like Swamp Leech or Vulnerable Heart, is it treated as 0 for those purposes as well? Or is the ability just unable to fire? What about investigating the Hidden Tunnel in City of the Elder Things (for something like Searching for Izzie, Call of the Unknown, or Buried Secrets)? A: After re-examining these cards and the direction our game has taken, we are going to override the previous ruling. Even if Swamp Leech were blanked with Mind Wipe, its Evade value would still be a “-“, which can be thought of as “null” or a “non-number.” You could not use this non-number as the basis for a skill test with Sharpshooter. It’s, as you said, unable to fire. This also means that you could not investigate at Hidden Tunnel.
Spawn – Any Bayou location.
Swamp Leech cannot be evaded.
Forced – When Swamp Leech enters a non-Bayou location: Discard it.
Another card I love to hate. It's delicious in design; you can get rid of it, if you are willing to take the slight sting of an Attack of Opportunity on a move. It's got a high enough combat that you will probably need to spend cards, ammo, charges, or some other resource to get rid of it. It's such a little thing, but it demands that you decide what you will give up. I suppose if you are playing Obfuscation or Survival Knife (2, you'll be OK, but it's still an annoying little beast.