Q: I heard today that with Burden of Leadership, since there's no ''must'' in the text, you can choose to exhaust an ally that's already exhausted to prevent them from taking the damage/horror.
I reach out to you because I feel it kind of strange to be allowed to do this and would like to know if it's the intent of the card or the designers forgot to include the ''must'' to force a choice that can alter the game state? A: You cannot exhaust a card that’s already exhausted—this is stated outright in the rules reference under Exhaust, Exhausted. If you have Ally assets that are already exhausted when you resolve Burden of Leadership, you must deal the damage and horror to them.Ruling updated: Though there exists a rule under Exhausted stating that an exhausted card cannot be exhausted again until it is ready, this rule doesn’t have much bearing when there is also a rule for Must stating that its absence when choosing between multiple options allows the player to choose “an option that does not change the game state.” Thus, the rules of Must conflict with the intention of Burden of Leadership. For that reason, Burden of Leadership will be receiving an errata, where “must” will be included in the presented choice: “For each Ally asset you control, you must either exhaust it or deal it 1 direct damage and 1 direct horror.”
Q: In late 2022, there was a ruling on Charlie's weakness, Burden of Leadership. In July of this year, many months after that ruling, the new v2.1 FAQ was released and the new FAQ did not include this errata. Does this mean that the Burden of Leadership ruling was reversed and there is no inclusion of "must"? Or should this errata have been included in the new FAQ and it was an oversight not to include it? A: No, the ruling wasn’t reversed—it was an oversight on our part not to include it in the latest FAQ. Burden of Leadership needs an erratum where its ability states “…for each Ally asset you control, you must either exhaust it or deal it 1 direct damage and 1 direct horror.” Please apply this ruling to the card if you play Charlie. (October, 2023)
Odkrycie - Jeśli nie kontrolujesz żadnego atutu z cechą Sprzymierzeniec, wtasuj Brzemię przywództwa z powrotem do twojej talii. W przeciwnym razie za każdy atut z cechą Sprzymierzeniec, który kontrolujesz, wyczerp go albo zadaj mu 1 bezpośrednie obrażenie i 1 bezpośredni punkt przerażenia.
This isn't exactly the kind of weakness that is going to have Charlie too worried because you have flexibility to decide how to handle the revelation effect.
Let's say you exhaust all your allies during the upkeep phase; the result is you have a subpar next turn where you avoid tests and do some other stuff with your actions (draw, move, resource, etc). Sure, there will be times when there's an enemy or another really critical test that you need to deal with. But you can always take the damage/horror route if there is something important going on, not to mention passive effects on your allies are still going to work.
Just don't get caught with no allies in your hand or in play and only this card in your deck. That would be bad...